The movie of my dreams

Last night I dreamed that Andrew Harrison and I were in the middle of making our next film, Shadow of the Dead. We were round the back of Portadown College, filming a scene with a girl (no, it’s not that kind of dream, you dirt-bird). I can’t remember the scene, exactly, and it didn’t resemble anything close to the story we have in mind, but I remember thinking that the scene would have been so much better if the character I was playing had his arm cut off for the rest of the film. Obviously this would be impossible on the cheapo budget of a Midnight Pictures flick, so we needed another solution. I had the crazy idea that if I allowed my arm to be chopped off for real, the doctors could sew it back on in a few months time, when filming was completed. I wondered whether I would lose any dexterity in the arm afterwards, and even if I did, I thought it might be worth the loss, for the sheer joy of improving the film. For some reason, I wasn’t thinking about the physical pain involved in losing a limb. The dream ended before I had to make the decision.

I hate dreams where you’re not quite yourself. But still, there’s dedication for you!

10 thoughts on “The movie of my dreams

  1. Anonymous says:

    Having an arm cut off would sort of ruin the old sex life, eh Darryl? 😉

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Why, whatever do you mean, Mr Anonymous? I’m sure I have no idea. o;-)

  3. Anonymous says:

    well if u bend ur arm bak up and put it inside your t-short and paint your elbow red then you could get off with it

  4. Darryl Sloan says:

    We did something like that to Jason Morrison in Zombie Genocide, except we went as far as attaching a joke-shop bone up his sleeve, as well. Worked a treat. Now that I think about it, this dream of mine was probably connected to that memory.

  5. Eddie says:

    I’ve had dreams were you don’t even think about why something strange is happening. some people can realise its a dream and manipulate and control the dream, i cant though.

    what do they call it… ah lucid dreaming:

    (from http://www.lucidity.com)
    Lucid dreaming means dreaming while knowing that you are dreaming. The term was coined by Frederik van Eeden who used the word “lucid” in the sense of mental clarity. Lucidity usually begins in the midst of a dream when the dreamer realizes that the experience is not occurring in physical reality, but is a dream. Often this realization is triggered by the dreamer noticing some impossible or unlikely occurrence in the dream, such as flying or meeting the deceased. Sometimes people become lucid without noticing any particular clue in the dream; they just suddenly realize they are in a dream. A minority of lucid dreams (according to the research of LaBerge and colleagues, about 10 percent) are the result of returning to REM (dreaming) sleep directly from an awakening with unbroken reflective consciousness.

  6. Darryl Sloan says:

    I sometimes experience hallucinations when I’m on the verge of sleep. Occasionally I’ve been freaked out by an imaginary insect on the wall, and I’ve jump out of bed only to realise that I can’t even see the wall. Other times I’ve hallucinated sometime weird like a coat floating in the middle of the room, or something as ordinary as an extra pillow in the bed which I know isn’t there.

    Most of the time none of it freaks me out, because it happens too frequently that I immediately realise I’m dreaming and I dismiss it. The funny thing is, even when I know the object isn’t real, I still keep on seeing it – until I reach out and try to touch it, and then it dissolves into nothing. I kid you not; this really happens.

    I guess this is kind of like lucid dreaming, but it’s more of a waking dream. Last night I had a particularly freaky one, where some kind of soft furniture was attached to the wall above my head, and it started growing down towards me. The memory is so hazy that I don’t know how to describe it more accurately than that. I jumped out of bed, which I rarely do, but as usual I realised I was dreaming and got back in.

    Listening to me, you’d think I was an LSD junkie in my youth. Not so. I don’t know why it happens, but it does. Too often.

  7. Eddie Mullan says:

    People are still very confused and scared by dreams. No wonder they used to drill holes in the skull thousands of years ago to let the demons out..

    you ever see Jacob’s Ladder? Amazing film.

  8. Darryl Sloan says:

    Pretty freaky movie, Jacob’s Ladder. I remember it well.

  9. Eddie Mullan says:

    You should write about it.. the dreams i mean. Forget zombies..show what really frightens you

  10. Darryl Sloan says:

    Nahhh, I couldn’t do that; zombies rock. Mind you, I had a nightmare which recurred a couple of times as a child, and it scared the hell out of me. I’d be riding down the street fast on my bike, being chased by an invisible curtain that was sweeping across the whole landscape behind me. Everything that gets caught in the curtain becomes frozen in time. I’m not quick enough; the curtain is gaining on me, and it catches me. I freeze on the spot. I can think and I can see, but I can’t move my eyes or anything else. I’m thinking, “Hold on a minute, if I just …” And then it dawns on me that I can’t do anything ever again, except stare at the same spot for all eternity. Then I wake up feeling like I’ve just escaped from hell itself. Pretty heady stuff for an eight-year-old.

Leave a Reply

