Life without a car

Forget what I said in the last post about contemplating life without a car. I’ve been living without my vehicle for a week now (due to repairs), and it’s been so frustrating. First, over the past seven days, Northern Ireland has been in the grip of a heatwave, and the thought of cycling to work in this blistering weather was unbearable. Didn’t want to use up my “annual leave” holidays just yet, but felt I had no choice. Now, I am not the sunbathing type; I am the “afraid of skin cancer” type, so I was left contemplating seven days indoors with nothing but DVDs for company. But … perhaps there was a better way to invest my time.

Since moving into this house almost three months ago, I’ve been gradually re-decorating the living room. And by gradually I mean graaaaaaadually. Last week I had a chance to really sort the house out – to finish stripping the paper and paint the walls and get my furniture in place. But the thought of cycling out to B&Q to buy paint in this weather was unbearable. So, I reluctantly asked a friend for a lift – several times, because (a) I didn’t buy enough paint, and (b) I made a mess and had to re-paint. More trouble ensued later in the week, when I ran out of food. This time, I risked a bike-ride, filling up my back-pack and pedalling through the heat with the sweat running down my back. Oh, for the convenience of an environmentally unfriendly diesel engine on four wheels!

And the moral of this story is that bicycles and heatwaves do not mix. I’ve felt like a prisoner in my house all week. I won’t be selling my car any time soon; being an eco-warrior can wait.

6 thoughts on “Life without a car

  1. Eddie Mullan says:

    I’ve never had a car, but I think I’ll need one sooner rather than later.

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Cars are great, except for the fact they have a tendency to suck your savings dry. Mine just failed the MOT, and I had to shell out £665 on repairs.

  3. Anonymous says:

    hi i was just reading through your blog. what type of kids work are you involved in in your church?

    curious.

  4. Darryl Sloan says:

    None, actually. These days, I’m a bit homeless as far as church is concerned. I work in a school as a computer techie and run a filmmaking club for the kids. I also take part in the Scripture Union.

  5. Anonymous says:

    ah i see. i have another question which i hope you don’t think is judgemental. your faith seems so strong but somewhere in the bible i remember reading about thinking about pure and lovely things. zombies are pretty freaky! again, curious.

  6. Darryl Sloan says:

    LOL! I vaguely remember that verse. Hold on while I consult Bible Gateway … That’s Philippians 4:8. “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things.” I think this is Paul’s say of saying, “Focus your mind on doing what’s right. Don’t spend time thinking about ways to sin.”

    If the verse meant what you originally took it to mean, it would forbid us from reading parts of the Bible, such as the gruesome content of the Book of Judges.

    Now that you’ve brought the verse to mind, it’s a timely reminder to me of why I can’t seem to shake my vices permanently – because I dwell on them, wondering if they’re really all that bad, allowing the devil seduce me.

    But on a lighter note, at least I get to keep my zombies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

