"Is There Anybody Out There?" – smaller dialup version also available

Just so nobody’s left out, here’s a 64 Kbps version of the story podcast, more suitable for dialup users. It’s half the filesize of the original (13 Mb).

Special thanks to ZombieMart and Homepage of the Dead for featuring the story on their websites. It’s great to have this publicity. Sadly, the only drawback is that I can’t count the number of downloads I’m receiving. I discovered that The Internet Archive, who host the story, only counts downloads that are clicked directly from the story’s page on their site, omitting downloads that are linked through from elsewhere (which accounts for 99% of them, because of the way I publicised the story). This is a real bummer, because I really wanted this experiment to help me gauge the popularity of the podcast fiction format.

I’ve now got the RSS situation sorted out with the site, so if you’re into that side of things, subscribe to the feed on the right. I’d like to encourage anyone who reads more than a few blogs regularly to consider using the feed. It allows you to consolidate all the blogs you read into one place, so that you don’t have to visit several different sites each day. I use the Bloglines service all for my reading.

8 thoughts on “"Is There Anybody Out There?" – smaller dialup version also available

  1. Adam says:

    Why don’t you just put the link (on your website) to the site that is hosting the podcast so that who ever wants to download it can only do it from there and not from your site.

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    I could, but it would spoil the one-click-direct-download approach I’ve taken with the menu on the right, and I’m a stickler for uniformity. Besides, the design of the page at the Archive is really cluttered and confusing.
    Take a look
    . The attention span of the casual surfer is short (I know mine is), and I might lose a few readers with that approach.

  3. Eddie Mullan says:

    http://www.godaddy.com is great for cheap but reliable hosting. Economy package has way more than you would ever need but you can get free stats on downloads- which are extremely useful

  4. Darryl Sloan says:

    Thanks, Ed. I’ll have a look at that.

  5. PRAEst76 says:

    I’m a big fan of rss/atom etc. Far better than using email updates. Especially considering how banjaxed email is these days due to spam.

    I also have a poor attention span. Ease of use is always good. As is uniformity and standards… I guess I’m a bit of a geek nazi in that respect. 🙂

    I use blackcatnetworks.co.uk for my hosting and domain registration. They are’t cheap though. Main reason I use them is that it’s run by friends of mine and I can pester them about stuff. 🙂 It’s very much hosting for nerds by nerds though which is probably not for the majority, but I like it that way.

  6. Jeffrey Allen Davis says:

    I left my internet on last night so that I could download the dialup version of your story and (hopefully) listen to it on my computer’s MP3 player. I finally went to bed, since the estimated 15 min download time kept creeping up. I’m looking forward to hearing the story.

    My wife and I really need to move into the 21st Century.

  7. Darryl Sloan says:

    I’m being as super-cheap as I can. I’m with easyspace, and I pay for the domain reg plus a thing called “cloaked web redirection”, which allows me to invisibly point the domain at webspace stored somewhere else (free ISP space). It’s nifty, but can be problematic when you try to reference media files through the domain name.

  8. Darryl Sloan says:

    Jeff,

    The podcast is about 13 Mb. Dialup accounts can usually manage about 4 Mb in twenty mins, so you are talking about an hour and a bit, as soon as the connection is good.

    Hope you’ll give the new podcast a whirl, too. As a rule, I’m keeping them under 16 Mb, because MacIdol (my host) won’t allow larger files.

    I’ve already got some stuff recorded for show #2.

Leave a Reply

