Fiction podcast: An excerpt from Chion

To help promote the new novel (and for those who can’t wait for their dead tree version to arrive), here’s a podcast of the first twelve pages of the book (25 minutes worth of listening, somewhat longer than the text excerpt I released last year). The audio recording comes in two flavours: 128kbps version for the connoisseur and a 32kbps version for the bandwidth-challenged.

This is the first try-out of my new microphone, the MXL Desktop Recording Kit. The acoustics in the room could be slightly better, but the mic still has a nice rich sound. As is my custom, I’ve featured carefully chosen snippets from the excellent music of Mike Andrews for the scene transitions. Enjoy!

[ Download Podcast ]

10 thoughts on “Fiction podcast: An excerpt from Chion

  1. Adam says:

    Just listened to the podcast it was excellent :)!!!!

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Glad you enjoyed it, Adam.

  3. Michael Reed says:

    I don’t usually bother with podcasts or spoken word fiction but I enjoyed that very much.

  4. Darryl Sloan says:

    Cheers, Mike. I’m more of a fan of the printed word, too, but there’s definitely a place for podcasts. I do most of my listening whilst doing the dishes or out for walks.

  5. Jeffrey Allen Davis says:

    The podcast is excellent. I can’t wait to read the book!

    BTW, what happened to the glasses in the picture?

  6. Darryl Sloan says:

    Thanks, Jeff. As for the glasses, I got a few snaps taken with them on and a few with them off. This one was the best photo (although Internet Explorer’s poor attempt at resizing makes it took like I’m giving a cheeky sneer).

  7. Chris says:

    It’s not Internet Explorer’s resizing, it’s that creepy looking goatee. Shave it off!

    Btw, I had a dream last night that you were becoming a New Age flake, talking about Buddhism and eastern religions. I yelled at you for being dumb.

    What does my dream mean, you say? I wouldn’t put any weight on it; I also dreamt my wife had given birth to a baby killer whale that looked like a penguin made out of a cereal box…

  8. Darryl Sloan says:

    The beard stays!

    Weird dream, Chris. I had one a couple of nights ago about breaking into my old house in Inglewood and discovering a whole bunch of upper class people people living there. The owner was miffed about my presence, and I thought she was being silly because (as I pointed out), “It’s not like I’m a stranger; this used to be my house.” She was not impressed (and who would be?). I tried to leave, only to discover that I was holding someone else’s phone (same brand as mine). When I found the owner and exchanged phones, it turned out that I was still holding someone else’s phone, as if some kind of mistake among three people had taken place. I started to feel trapped, because there was something off (something almost occultish) about these people … but I couldn’t leave without my phone!

    Weird, huh?

  9. Jeffrey Allen Davis says:

    Goatee? He has a goatee? Oh, yeah. I thought it was a shadow.

    BTW, I’m using Mozilla, not I.E..

  10. Darryl Sloan says:

    I grow a goatee and people can’t even see it (sigh). Well, at least you didn’t say, “He has a goatee? I thought he just never bothered washing his face.”

Leave a Reply

