The arrival

Well, now, what’s a boring old photograph of cardboard boxes doing on my blog? It means the shipment of books has arrived, of course … one day early. Good ol’ Lightning Source. Looks like I’ll be busy with the bubblewrap and Sellotape this evening, folks.

My thanks to all the regular posters, whose comments created a great sense of excitement and anticipation on the blog. I’ll do my best to get all the existing pre-orders on the way in tomorrow’s post. UK buyers can expect their book in Wednesday’s or Thursday’s mail; shipping to USA normally takes seven to ten days.

8 thoughts on “The arrival

  1. will hadcroft says:

    Boxes of books! I bet this is even more exciting than receiving your first copy. I’ll be putting in my order once I’ve signed up to Paypal. I really am looking forward to reading it.

  2. A.P. Fuchs says:

    One of those is mine!!!

  3. Darryl Sloan says:

    Oh, it’s hard to beat the experience of handling the first ever book printed, but yes, it is exciting. I’ll be even more excited when the boxes deplete and the books are in readers hands. It’s like your baby’s finally born and now you can’t wait to show her off.

  4. Adam says:

    How many did you order?

  5. Darryl Sloan says:

    250 copies, but that’s not a reflection of the entire “print run.” It’s print-on-demand, so I will order more when those run out. The beauty of POD is that the book can stay in print indefinitely.

  6. Darryl Sloan says:

    A.P.,

    Indeed it is. And yours is winging its way to you in today’s post.

    By the way, thanks for the publicity on the Shocklines message board. I really appreciate it.

  7. James Maxon says:

    Wow! I got my copy in the mail yesterday. I have to say, it looks very professional. I can also see the quality in the back cover you were talking about. I’m looking forward to reading it. I’m a slow reader, and have a few books on the pile to read before, but I’ll be sure to let know you what I think.

  8. Darryl Sloan says:

    Yeah, too many books have basic textual back covers. I suppose that’s because books are a textual medium. Whereas, if you pick up a DVD from a shelf, the back covers are often quite elaborate. As a struggling author, I figure I’ve got to pull out all the stops.

    Also, it comes down to me caring a great deal about the work as a product and wanting each reader to feel they’ve got their money’s worth in every respect.

Leave a Reply

