Chion feedback and 100 sales so far

Chion has received its first proper review, on the None May Say book reviews site. I like this review; it’s mostly positive without being afraid to mention a few warts. In addition, I’ve received a lot of feedback from readers, the majority of which I’ve now placed on the Chion page.

A fifth bookshop, Eason in Donegall Place (Belfast), is stocking Chion. I’m pleased to report that, between bookshop sales, internet sales, and personal sales, I’ve now sold over one hundred copies in the 1.5 months since publication; small potatoes if your name’s Stephen King, but for an indie author a great start.

6 thoughts on “Chion feedback and 100 sales so far

  1. Taliesin_ttlg says:

    Darryl, I’ve been meaning to pop over and tell you that I really enjoyed Chion. If I might be so bold I found it quite John Wyndham-esque, and I mean that as a compliment.

    I have certainly been recommending it.

  2. Chris says:

    You know, I too felt somewhat short-changed by Chion in terms of length (I think it was one of the things I mentioned when I proof-read for you). But, you know, that’s ok; it means you are on to something in terms of your story telling and writing abilities. To have written Chion poorly, with a crappy plot, would have made the length issue completely irrelevant (long or short, the story would still have been crap).

    In other words, I think it is a compliment that people are lamenting Chion‘s shortness!

    I’m looking forward to your next book. The lessons learned from Ulterior and Chion will only serve to improve your abilities. Do you have anything new in the works?

  3. Darryl Sloan says:

    Thanks, Andy! Glad you enjoyed it. I’ve added your comment to the rest on the Chion web page.

  4. A.P. Fuchs says:

    Finished reading Chion yesterday. I’ll be sending you my commentary via email once I type it up, Darryl.

    100+ sales in 1.5 months is a great start. If you’ve given yourself the “Ulterior” goal (i.e. 1000 copies in 3 years), Chion should have no trouble attaining that.

    I hope you exceed Ulterior sales-wise, but a match wouldn’t be all too shabby either.

  5. Darryl Sloan says:

    Hi, Chris.

    Thanks. I hadn’t thought of it like that. You’ve given me an idea for a new blog-post, so I’ll comment in greater detail there.

    No new fiction on the horizon, although foremost in my mind is the big zombie novel. Andy is keen for me to finish a script for a new film, so we can get moving on that.

  6. Darryl Sloan says:

    Hi, A.P.

    The goalposts are set a little wider with Chion. I’m happy to go about it in a more relaxed fashion and have fun selling books without worrying too much about numbers. Although, if pressed to quote a figure, I would say that I won’t be happy until I sell at least 500.

    So far, I’ve gotten five bookshops to stock the novel, and I doubt I’ll be targeting many more. There is so little profit to be made in bricks-and-mortar stores (at least with my pricing), and there are huge hassles involved chasing unpaid invoices.

    It is my intention, however, to try and get all the Northern Ireland libraries on board.

    The internet is where I’m counting on most of my sales.

    With Ulterior being an off-set print-run, I had to set the goal at 1,000 books, and selling the stock was quite a stressful experience. Thank goodness for print-on-demand.

Leave a Reply

