Big interview on The Writing Show

I’ve been looking forward to sharing this one with you. Mick Halpin of The Writing Show podcast recently travelled up from Dublin to Portadown to interview me. We had a wonderful, relaxed discussion, where I talked about childhood horrors, my fascination with end-of-the-world fiction, my maverick self-publishing strategies, my filmmaking endeavours, and numerous other topics. The download is a hefty 27 Mb MP3 file, translating to 49 mins of audio. Mick has also put online a full transcript of the interview, featuring numerous photos and links to all the various things we talked about (also featuring a bonus “unruly review” of Zombie Genocide).

[ Download Interview ] [ Show Notes ] [ Transcript ]

7 thoughts on “Big interview on The Writing Show

  1. Mark Leslie says:

    Hey Darryl. I’m only half-way through listening to your Writing Show interview, but I’m loving it.

    Mick is, of course, a great interviewer, and you are a fascinating interviewee. I loved hearing about the films you put together when you were younger and the novels you’ve written and self-produced. The books sound quite intriguing and I love hearing about the process you went through when producing your first one.

    Interestingly, two of your favourite early read novels (Day of the Triffids and Z is for Zachariah) are also among my favourites — I also have a bit of a soft spot for post-apocalyptic novels.

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Hi, Mark. Thanks for the kind words. Glad you’re enjoying the interview. I certainly had fun.

    Don’t forget: there’s a free 30-minute MP3 excerpt from Chion on my site.

  3. Adam says:

    Great interview Darryl

  4. Mark says:

    Just sitting outside enjoying the sun and listening to this. See you tomorrow. Mark. M.

  5. Darryl Sloan says:

    Hi, Mark. Took me a moment to realise who you were! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Critical Mick says:

    Hey Darryl!

    Just thought you might like to know: in that first week the interview had 1081 downloads. Paula says “congratulations!”

    All the best, man! And thanks again.

    Mick

  7. Darryl Sloan says:

    That’s fabulous! And the beauty of podcasts is permanence. I’ll be placing the link prominently on my site for some time to come.

    I’ve been really enjoying some of the past shows on The Writing Show. In particular, Paula’s interview with Buddy Scalera really got me excited about comics again.

Leave a Reply

