Cycling vs. driving – Part V

Abanding your car and choosing to do 100% of your travels by bicycle does wonders for your health, but not the health of your car (see photo). Back in December, when my car had been sitting in the driveway for a few months, I peered inside one day and noticed a few spots of mould growing on the seats and steering wheel. I promptly cleaned them off. During winter, I thought I would do the sensible thing and put my car away from the elements in the garage. I even put a few of those little silica gel packets along the dash to help prevent dampness. And I left it for three months. A few days ago, when I decided to bring the car back out into the sunlight, this is the present Father Time left me. Mould. Lots and lotsa mould.

Amazing what the lack of human companionship will do to a car. Well, when the apocalypse strikes and wipes out 99% of the human population, you won’t find me hotwiring many cars on my travels. Yeuch! Mad Max never had to put up with this.

Anyone want to buy a 1995 Nissan Terrano, real cheap? Actual vehicle featured in the famous Irish horror films Dark Light and Saul’s Pupils? No? … Oh.

14 thoughts on “Cycling vs. driving – Part V

  1. Peter Adams says:

    I think you should have ideally gone out and put the heating on in the jeep once a week or so. I think in these situations packets of silica gel won’t do it. It’d be like me putting silica gel in the bathroom to sort out the damp. Needs the window open during the day and the blow heater on for a bit after a shower.

    Sadly mould and damp is a side effect of living in this country.

    Oh, and you do know not to eat the silica gel? πŸ™‚

  2. Eddie says:

    wow! I idnt thin that would happen….ugh, i reckon you could use that car again for a horror film…and it would be way more effective this time πŸ˜‰

  3. Chris says:

    Astonishing! Gosh, and I can remember the very day we went out to test-drive the Nissan just before you bought it.

    Shame, Sloan! Shame on you and your deviant ways!

    Btw, I’m pretty sure you’re never going to get any takers for the jeep in this state. There’s a wreckers yard out the Armagh road, just opposite Rob’s restaurant, that’ll take it off your hands for 30 quid or so.

  4. Stacey says:

    Yeah, but Mad Max lived in the desert.

  5. Darryl Sloan says:

    Peter: You should see my bathroom! I’m kidding … sort of. πŸ˜‰

    Eddie: A movie vehicle, eh? As long as someone else is driving.

    Chris: Appearances can be deceiving. I am intending to tackle the Mould Monster with one of those mini vaccuum cleaners this weekend. I tried some kitchen roll, but all that did was release a cloud of spores into the air (thankfully, I was wearing a mask). I can see the headline now: Killer superbug’s origin traced to lazy b*st*rd’s garage.

    Stacey: When the apocalypse hits, I’m off to Australia.

  6. Gordy Crozier says:

    Maybe there’s the start of a new horror film about a flesh eating bacteria “It Came from My Car”, “Nissan Nightmare” or “Terrorano”!

  7. Chris says:

    Gordy: “Terrorano” – that one made me roar my leg off! πŸ™‚ Darryl’s neglected that car so much, I’ve feared for my life on numerous occasions when we’ve been driving around.

    Darryl: A mini vacuum cleaner? I don’t think you’ll make much progress with one of those things. What about the mould that’s inside the seats? Once you get the surface cleaned off, you’ll be releasing spores into the air every time your arse hits the seat. And what about the musty odor? Man, just scrap the thing and get on with your deviant, cycling ways… πŸ˜‰

  8. A.P. Fuchs says:

    Gordy kinda beat me to it, but was gonna say at least now you have a prop and/or set for your next horror film.

    Sorry this happened, Darryl. Hope you’re able to fix this somehow.

  9. Chris says:

    So, did you tackle the mould over the weekend?

  10. Darryl Sloan says:

    Yeah, I had a go … yesterday. πŸ™‚ Managed to suck up enough mould with a mini vacuum to allow me to get into the car and drive it out of the garage (the way my garage is, I had to enter via the passenger door and climb over – ugh!). I was surprised that nothing had seized up. I had a short drive around the estate and everything is sound, mechanically. That gave me a bit of a lift. The car is actually worth about Β£2,500, so it’s definitely worth putting in the time on the asthetics, and getting a sale. Although the feeling of driving the car made me want to keep it. The Terrorano will be back! πŸ˜€

  11. Chris says:

    Well, it’s good to hear that it’s not completely dead! πŸ™‚

    However, I’d be careful about your assessment of the car being mechanically sound after three months of disuse in your garage. By the sounds of things, you didn’t even go in and turn the engine over once in a while. That’s not a good thing. If I were you, I’d probably want to get an oil change, and have your uncle come up and give the engine, brakes, and chassis a good poke. Then, go for a big long drive to Lisburn, or further, to give the car a good run and charge up the battery.

    Cars are a hassle. Yesterday, I had to cough up almost $700 because the power steering pump had to be replaced my jeep. It all started because one of the power steering hoses was leaking quite a bit. I actually went out, bought the replacement hose, and had a crack at fixing it myself. Unfortunately, my father-in-law and I ended up buggering the threads on the fitting in the power steering pump, and cracking the pulley, all of which necessitated us calling the local jeep dealer to come tow my car to their garage. They had to replace the entire pump. Very expensive. The moral of the story: If you try to beat the system, and fail, the system really takes it out of your hide…

  12. emma says:

    You are such a dirty b*st**d! I cant believe i was interested in you! I dread to think what is growing in your pants! Keep up the good work x

  13. Darryl Sloan says:

    That’s the problem, you see. I need a good woman in my life … to do all the cleaning. Ho-ho-ho!

    Yet once again, Sloan succeeds in scaring off the ladies. -sigh- Catch-22. πŸ˜‰

  14. jmaxon says:

    I had that happen to a car once. There were electrical issues so I bought a different car. It took me awhile to get rid of the old 84 VW Jetta, so it happened to collect mould similar to the picture you showed. It was odd because my family has a history of leaving old Junkers sitting around, not uncommonly for more than a year. This was the only one it happened to. Incidentally I also had a problem of moisture in the Jetta–before it died–whereas the other cars didn’t. So my best guess is that had something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

