Farewell, David Icke

I’ve been watching David Icke’s latest marathon video presentation, entitled The Lion Sleeps No More, and it’s the straw the breaks the camel’s back for me. But first, I have to acknowledge Icke as the man who helped me to hit the ground running at a time in my life (just shy of three years ago) when I was confused and depressed by my inability to make either Christianity or atheism work effectively in my life – a struggle that had been ongoing for almost two decades.

If I could trace the hinge on which my life started to change for the better, it’s the opening chapter of Icke’s book I Am Me, I Am Free, entitled “The Bewildered Herd.” Not a fantastic book by any means, but it presented spirituality as something that could be learned through reason and intuition (as opposed to “The word of God says …”). It helped me to see through all the self-hate perpetuated by religion, and it brought about a lot of self-healing in my life. Credit where credit is due. But …

The more I read Icke’s books, the more the cracks began to appear. I kept wanting a repeat of the emotional high I got with the first one, and sure enough, I found some inspiration, but I also started to see another side to David Icke, and right now it’s the only side I can see.

Icke places a high degree of confidence in “witness” testimony that can’t be verified, even when these witnesses say the craziest things. A prime case is Arizona Wilder, one of the main sources for Icke’s assertion that there are reptilian shapeshifters among us – people who look human but aren’t. When these witnesses dish out dirt on other famous people (again without evidence), Icke simply repeats these claims as if they are true. As such, he becomes nothing more than a rumour-trafficker and a character assassin.

He uses credible theories like Michael Talbot’s holographic universe hypothesis to back up his outlandish claims about shapeshifting. When examined carefully, the theory doesn’t even remotely allow for the kind of possibilities that Icke suggests.

Worst of all is the paranoid conspiracy angle that he has incorporated into his worldview. In Icke’s world, there has been an “Illuminati” running the world from the shadows hundreds or thousands of years. They’re planning a New World Order. Chemicals in food, vaccines, mobile phone radiation, television entertainment, are all part of a coordinated plan to dumb down the human population, so that they will be easier to control. And the evidence for this? Icke simply says, “Join the dots and you see it.” Well, I join the dots and all I see is a wild theory that can’t be backed up.

So I’m watching The Lion Sleeps No More, and Icke doing his usual rumour-trafficking, and failing to back up his claims. One very telling moment is when he starts to talk about “Confessions of a Satanist,” and he opens by saying that he can’t prove the authenticity of the document, but he then talks for ten minutes about it as if it’s completely genuine. In fact, the whole segment on Satanism was like tabloid trash (and I do know a thing or two about Satanism). So, the segment finishes, and I’m thinking, “What can I actually take from this?” And the answer was nothing. Meanwhile the audience is clapping and cheering, feeling very enlightened.

And this is where I feel a sense of dread, because Icke’s style is like that of an Evangelical preacher. Although he talks about peace and love, he is essentially militarising these people – as defenders of pure fantasy. Imagine me wearing my inverted pentagram pendant to a David Icke meeting. All his followers will see is a guy who rapes children and drinks their blood, creating negative energy that opens an interdimensional doorway for the reptilians gods to interface with our reality. FFS!

The bottom line is: I’m done. The David Icke experience has gone from sweet to intolerably bitter. Here’s a parting shot of my complete David Icke collection (1990-2007), sitting on my bookshelf for the last time before I list most of them on eBay.

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Farewell, David Icke

  1. mikemachina says:

    Are you sure selling them to other people is the best idea? I mean, sure, you definitely want to recoup your money. And in all likelihood, the people most likely to buy these books are Icke-heads that are effectively a lost cause.

    But you were clearly on the fence and/or lost enough to seriously consider it for a while. There are other people that could be swayed one way or the other, and may take it too seriously. The information in these books is so bad as to honestly be considered an intellectual hazard (Sort of like a biohazard, for memetics). Well, and biologically hazardous – if enough people jump on to the AntiVax bandwagon, herd immunity drops, and even us vaccinated sheeple are at risk.

    Maybe I’m overthinking things. I overthink everything. I guess I just feel like the material of the likes of Icke, Jones, Ventura, etc is barely worth its weight in kindling.

    Perhaps list it with a disclaimer, “For entertainment purposes only!!” 😀

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Hi, Mike.

    Well, I wondered about the same issue briefly. Ultimately, I’m not a supporter of information censorship. It boils down to that.

    Let the buyers of these books make of them what they will. If I act as the judge of what another person should see, then in all fairness I shouldn’t complain when someone else decides what I can or can’t see – and I’m not having that.

    So, off to eBay the books trot. I’m keeping a few of them, though, mostly the thinner ones from the 1990s – they were more about spirituality than conspiracy.

  3. mikemachina says:

    That’s a good way to frame it. I, too, feel there should be absolute freedom of what information can be obtained. No one has a right to decide what they think should and should not be distributed based on their personal thoughts of what crazy is.

  4. Riverfyre says:

    This might redeem the Ivan Fraser link with regards to Icke(if you can get past the magazine title) 😉

    http://www.paranoiamagazine.com/tangledweb.html

    quote:The Company Icke Keeps.
    It would of course be unfair to draw any unsavory conclusions about David Icke’s Freedom Foundation merely because the IHC has clearly acted as a conduit for Larry Rockefeller’s generous grants or the considerable largesse of the Tides Foundation or the more modest contributions of the Philanthropic Collaborative (Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisers) or even the trifling amounts provided by the Rockefeller Family Fund. It would surely be a case of guilt-by-association to find fault with Icke’s arrangement with the IHC on the basis of this evidence. Nevertheless, one must grapple with three indisputable facts:

    Icke has stated repeatedly and explicitly in his books and lectures not to trust tax-exempt foundations, especially those connected to the Rockefellers and Bronfmans;
    In 2005 and 2006 the IHC received on behalf of its member groups almost $1 million from Rockefeller philanthropic sources and $335,000 from the Tides Foundation; and
    The IHC, until very recently, administered both Icke’s Freedom Foundation and Pamela Icke’s.

    It’s certainly an interesting read about a conspira-guru who no walky his talky.
    L.R.

  5. Paul Orsi says:

    Darryl, what is your opinion about Maximilien De Lafayette?

  6. Paul Rubino says:

    The truth is very important …

    David Icke: Methods Of A Madman
    http://tinyurl.com/6u9hmo4 (video)

  7. Anna Smith says:

    I too have read and followed Icke for some years but am starting to wonder! he is very one sided in his views and very evangelical like, almost cultish. Whats to say he isnt totally wrong and he is the anti christ not the force for good, we all have to make our own minds up and try to live as good as life as we can

  8. Anna Smith says:

    Just another thought, it has been suggested that he is himself a freemason, maybe he is persuading us all to be anarchists in order to give the governments more control over us problem reaction solution as he puts it, we become the problem , the government passes more laws to control us and the solution is the new world order that he is telling us all about but in actual fact he is helping to instigate it. Basically i agree with Daryl , i am done with him.

  9. Paolo Rubino says:

    Reblogged this on Illuminutti.

Leave a Reply

