Christianity and closure

I don’t normally blog about my latest book review, but I’m making an exception, because I’ve just finished a book that took me several months of ongoing study to get through: Josh McDowell’s 700-page volume of Christian apologetics, The New Evidence that Demands a Verdict.

As many of you know, three and a half years ago I deconverted from Christianity, after almost two decades as a Christian. I’ve never looked back, and I’ve never sat on my laurels, either. For some time, I’ve wanted to study something thorough about Christianity – to put my mind through the rigors of the very best of Christian apologetics, to see if I would come out the other side unscathed. And I have. I’m more informed now than I’ve ever been, and more informed than the vast majority of Christians.

Christianity will always be a subject I want to talk about, because of its effect (desired or undesired) on all our lives through its presence in western culture. But in terms of me ever returning to the fold, let’s just say that reading McDowell’s book was like putting the last nail in the coffin. Please check out my lengthy and detailed review …

[ Read Review ]

One thought on “Christianity and closure

  1. Good book, even better review. Although I’m still a beliver myself.

Leave a Reply

