Losing my way

And finding it again.

10 thoughts on “Losing my way

  1. Greg says:

    Darryl, it seems to me that your philosophy is a form of Nihilism. Viewing one’s self as the Universe (or a part of it) is interesting, and also means the Universe is the Ouroboros, in other words life is eating life. If your personality (ego) does not survive death, and we only carry on as the rest of the Universe, then I believe your unconscious mind is faced with an impossible problem. There is a cognitive dissonance your mind has to deal with regarding your impermanence, yet the feeling of “I AM” wants to be immortal. Science is nihilism, there is no meaning or purpose to life, it is all random. Religion is a way out of thinking through problems for one’s self. Philosophy opens the mind more to what is possible. In the end, everything is subjective. We all can only know our own personal subjective filter on reality. Can you ever really know for certain you are correct? Do the subjective opinions and experiences of others matter in forming your personal views? Whose view, opinion, philosophy is correct? On what basis can we ever know? If we are a fluke of nature, and do not have a soul that survives death, then life is meaningless and there is no reason to do or think one thing over another. You said it yourself, you were happier in some ways before all the searching. Me too. It does not bring inner peace. I wonder sometimes if the people that are deluded but happy are not better off in some way. I believe that seeing a Universe that eats itself does not lead one to a happy state of mind. It may be correct, but maybe not.

    What if God (all, and alone) became so bored that he committed divine suicide? We are the fragments of that god, looking to unite and move back to unity. Maybe each of us (fragments) is a soul in varying states of understanding of unity. I don’t know, hope you are well. I enjoy your point of view very much.

  2. Darryl says:

    Hi, Greg. I don’t see it like that at all. It looks as if you’re suffering from a sense of Cartesian dualism, even when you attempt conceptualise the self as the Universe. You have to come to terms what the idea that there literally is no “you” residing between the eyes. Individuated consciousness is just a focusing of the Universe into apparent parts. And you’re the Universe. This is a difficult psychological transition to make, but I am definitely speaking to you from the other side of it.

    As to whether one philosophy is any better than another, I use science as an effective guide to narrowing my philosophical speculations. There is no doubt that the idea of the individual “soul” is defunct these days. The findings of neuroscience make it plain that the personality is inseparable from the physical brain. So we can say that all philosophy depending upon the notion of the “soul” is bunk, or at least in need of significant revision.

  3. greg says:

    Darryl,
    Have you seen some of the videos of the human calculators? People like Scott Flansburg and Shakuntala Devi. They can calculate complex problems like square roots and cube roots of large numbers in their head faster than a computer. Its as if they are connected to the answer, it just appears, it just exists for them. I don’t think they actually calculate at all, the numbers have on ontological reality that somehow their brains can tune into. How is this possible unless the brain is connected in some way to a platonic realm where truth simply exists? Why would we need to evolve a talent such as that?

    I am not sure if there is a soul, thus my communication with you. The biggest stumbling block for me is the idea of getting something out of nothing. Original cause. Science does not have an satisfying answer for this, at least to me. Also Abiogenesis. How does life emerge from lifeless atoms? Random, purposeless, meaningless atoms somehow arrange into molecules, evolve over time into complex life forms with volition. I am not saying that god did it, just that random unintelligent atoms forming life itself with consciousness seems improbable.

    If we don’t have a soul, then nothing matters, and by looking at the nature of life on earth it is easy to conclude that there is no meaning. Life consumes and feeds on other life in a constant struggle for survival and power. No loving creator would set up such a situation. We are dependent on the consumption of life forms for our very health, and we did evolve to eat meat. I hope you are taking a B12 vitamin at least, or over time a very serious neurological deficiency can result. I agree with the ethics of vegetarianism, but my physical body does not. If we go too long without B12 you will have nerve problems, things like peripheral neuropathy. The best type of B12 is methylcobalamin, you can get the sublingual type, it absorbs under the tongue.

    I will do some thinking on Cartesian dualism, thanks for the input!

  4. Darryl says:

    These are some very stimulating questions, thanks.

    “The biggest stumbling block for me is the idea of getting something out of nothing. Original cause.”

    Out of nothing, nothing comes. We see that there is something. Therefore there never was nothing. There was no original cause. Infinite regress is a tangible reality. Look at the number pi.

    “Science does not have a satisfying answer for this, at least to me.”

    Science presents us with the Big Bang singularity. This is all the matter/energy of the universe squased to infinite density in a space of zero volume. This is not nothing. This is what the Universe flowered into, therefore is IS the Universe. The Universe was never not here, in one form or another.

    “Also Abiogenesis. How does life emerge from lifeless atoms?”

    It doesn’t. Life does not come from non-life. Therefore the atoms are not as lifeless as they appear. Something very mysterious is behind what’s going on with them. It’s not likely to be an anthropomorphic being. And lifeforms are not likely to contain what we’ve come to call a “soul.” But life IS. And because life is, life must be a fundamental property of the Universe.

    “If we don’t have a soul, then nothing matters, and by looking at the nature of life on earth it is easy to conclude that there is no meaning.”

    Be careful about erecting a “false alternative” argument. What about the idea that consciousness is an abstract dimension of the Universe that is always striving to focus itself through matter? Eventually it does so, and we have something like Earth.

    “Life consumes and feeds on other life in a constant struggle for survival and power. No loving creator would set up such a situation.”

    Correct. Life exists as a harmony of contained conflicts. The hostility that you see in life is best understood as the playfulness of the Universe. This is all a big game with no meaning other than life for its own sake. (Alan Watts is particularly good on this theme.)

  5. greg says:

    Darryl,
    Interesting vid of the Clockwork Universe:

  6. greg says:

    Darryl,
    You may find the books of Mike Hockney interesting. There is an incredible amount of information in them, and they have helped me to elevate my thinking to a better level.
    I would be curious to hear what you think.

    http://www.amazon.com/Mike-Hockney/e/B004KHR7DC

  7. taooftim57 says:

    Been a long time since I watched one of your videos my friend and although I do not always agree with your conclusions we do agree that everything is a part/one with the Universe. I am/have been going through the same thing over these last few years yet it is not an empty feeling as much as it is an overload problem and my hard drive(mind) has slowed down because of it.

    I think you hit the nail on the head when you said “Focus” and I have just recently dropped a few of my intranet sites in order to do so. I wonder if you have read the book “The Divine Matrix” by Greg Braden? I read it a while ago but it is along the same lines as you speak and as I believe.

    I wish you well on your journey Darryl and remember “The Kingdom of God is within you” and in us all…I mean that but maybe not as you would think I do.

  8. tattva says:

    I’m still kind of confused too. Being part of consciousness manifests sometimes as meaning/purpose. Others call it god, grace and so on, let’s not bother with that. You know what I’m talking about, or at least our gut knows.
    It seems as if there is some sort of “divine plan” when it happens but it isn’t. This line of thinking is along enlightment/salvation.
    As i see it, we are the eyes of consciousness and our choices forge the plan as we go along. If consciousness had a plan, why bother us with choice?

    Sorry if it was incoherent, it kind of fell into place while I was writing it! ~It took me 30 mins. Thanks for the chance to eliminate this bug from my mind.

  9. Darryl says:

    “If consciousness had a plan, why bother us with choice?” – Now that’s what I call a quotable quote. I may use that. 🙂

  10. tattva says:

    hahaha be my guest, I’m posting it on fb for the copyriht!!

Leave a Reply

