Welcome to the new blog

Well, I’ve decided to migrate my blog from Blogger to WordPress. Whether it now looks better or worse than the old blog, I’m not sure. One thing’s for sure, it’s more functional.

One of the most important things to me about blogging is receiving comments from readers. You’ll notice the new blog lists the last five comments down the right-hand side – a nice touch. Those of you who were in the habit of commenting regularly, please keep ’em coming. Obviously, you’ll no longer log in from your Blogger account (if you had one), but comments are open to everyone. Just state your name and post away.

You’ll notice there’s now a “Categories” section on the sidebar. This should give a bit more exposure to some important older posts, like my writing and filmmaking tips, that are currently floating way back in the mists of time.

I always hated the navigation (or lack thereof) on the Blogger template. Now, I’ve been able to move all the clutter that was on my sidebar into handy pages along the top.

Expect further changes and enhacements in the coming days.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the new blog

  1. Earl says:

    Between the two, Blogger and WordPress, I think the immediate ability to navigate to the far-flung, outermost parts of your site offered by the WordPress template makes things far more accessible. Posts veiled by the mists of time and the previous template might possibly be read now. Overall, it seems quite good.

  2. David says:

    Darryl, glad to see your blog is still going. I check in on it from time to time and noticed that you had not been posted. I thought you had taken the summer off.

    Glad to see you back

    David.

  3. Darryl Sloan says:

    Yeah, I should have put a message up on the old Blogger site long ago. Glad you’re sticking around.

  4. James says:

    Hey Darryl,

    It’s been awhile since I visited and I see I’ve gotten quite a bit behind on your posts. I like the functionality of this site better than old blog. One of these days I’ve gotta finish my own site, but like so many things it sits collecting dust. I commend you for keeping up with your site.

  5. Darryl Sloan says:

    Thanks for stopping by, James. I still have to finish your story about the cat. Haven’t forgotten! 🙂

  6. James says:

    No worries. I do actually have a better version of it put together now. Not sure if you started it yet, but if not, I suggest reading the newest one (let me know and I’ll e-mail it). I look forward to your comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

