Ballycastle Film Club presents Do Not Disturb

On 1 March Andrew Harrison and I headed up to the north coast to make our third film with Ballycastle Film Club. In preparation, my mind had drifted to a memorable short story that I read about ten years ago in the pages of small-press fiction zine RQC (short for Really Quite Cosmic). The story was “Student Seance” by James A. Tucker. I decided to write it as a script from the ground up, without re-reading the original. I wrestled a bit, as a Christian, with a subject matter; it’s difficult telling a fantasy story featuring an occult activity that you believe is genuinely dangerous, but I found a balance that I quite liked. Sadly, I’ve no way of notifying James that we’ve made a movie out of his story, or of even asking permission. But it’s a non-profit movie, and I hope he would be delighted by our choice rather than offended. Maybe he’ll discover the movie one of these days if he Googles his name.

At Ballycastle Film Club, I was delighted to see the return of some old faces, as well as some new ones. Do Not Disturb was premiered yesterday evening at Ballycastle Film Festival, and received a hearty round of applause. Hope you enjoy it, too.

6 thoughts on “Ballycastle Film Club presents Do Not Disturb

  1. Excellent! I loved seeing the “8-ball” roll into the corner pocket when he walked into the room. Priceless stuff. Was the boy who led the seance English? His accent sounded different.

  2. Darryl Sloan says:

    Yeah, Sam’s originally from England. Although the Ballycastle accent itself is quite different from other parts of Ireland, too.

    The pool room scene was tricky. Prior to filming, we learned that the pool table had been removed. Thankfully, I have a friend who has a pool room in his house. However, that house is over one hundred miles from where we were filming with the teenagers. So, we filmed all of Sam’s shots looking directly at him, then filmed the pool table at a later date, as if it were Sam’s point of view. The only telltale sign that Sam’s not in the same room is the dull light hitting his face compared to the sunny room. Bet you never noticed!

  3. jmaxon says:

    I think you handled it well in a Christian perspective.

  4. Darryl Sloan says:

    Thanks. At the end of the day, we were basically sandboxing with a bunch of kids and having a lot of fun. I could get myself into a moral tangle and accuse myself of trivialising what’s genuinely dangerous, but I don’t think that kind of attitude is healthy for me. I’ve been there.

  5. jmaxon says:

    Yeah, I think that “Christians” spend way too much time getting offended and not enough time really listening to what’s being said. I have been in the offended category more times than I can remember, but in my old age (ha) I’m starting to see past some of those superficial objections.

    I still try to keep myself from offending others as much as it warrants genuine concern, but like anything, there are extremes to be wary of. I find that the disputable grey areas are what bring the most objections, but I tend to lean towards listening to the core of the issue rather than blowing a whistle.

    If Christians spend more time listening, even at the risk of being offended, then we might actually make a genuine difference in this world. At least, that’s kinda where I’m at.

  6. Sam Poots says:

    Wow, I’d forgotten about this. See what randomly trawling through the internet can turn up? Sam here, I’m the kid with the long hair leading the seance.

Leave a Reply

